Countdown

Countdown clock

The countdown clock has been designed to symbolise the Olympic spirit of Lausanne Olympic Capital. Lausanne has hosted the IOC headquarters since 1915 and was given the official title of Olympic Capital in 1994. Lausanne and the Canton of Vaud are also home to more than 50 international federations and international entities linked to sport. Built at the initiative of the City of Lausanne in cooperation with the Canton of Vaud, the International Olympic Committee and OMEGA, the countdown clock highlights Lausanne’s role of Olympic Capital.

Made of several blocks of Jura limestone, this clock counts down the time remaining (in days, hours, minutes and seconds) until the Rio the PyeongChang Games in 2018 and the Rio Games in 2020.

On one of the faces, the seven pictograms carved in the stone represent the seven Olympic sports on the program of the PyeongChang Winter Olympics in 2018: biathlon, bobsleigh, curling, ice hockey, luge, ice skating and ski.

On the other face, no less than 28 pictograms symbolise the sports federations which will be taking part in the Tokyo Olympics in 2020. These pictograms were developed by Omega and carved by craftsmen in stone.

By setting up this clock, the city wished to pay tribute to the outgoing President Jacques Rogge, an upright man of conviction who defended the values of the Olympic movement. Through the robust nature of the stone and its size, this countdown clock owned by the City of Lausanne exemplifies the deep roots of the Olympic movement in Lausanne and so strengthens its stature as Olympic Capital.
The countdown clock was inaugurated on Monday, 24 June 2013, in the presence of Mr Philippe Leuba, Councillor of State, Daniel Brélaz, Mayor of the City of Lausanne, Nick Hayek, Swatch Group CEO, Stephen Urquhart, OMEGA President, and Jacques Rogge, IOC President.

    You may also like...

    Social Hub @MyLausanne

Countdown

Countdown Clock

Die Countdown Clock soll den Olympischen Geist von Lausanne, der Hauptstadt der Olympischen Bewegung, symbolisieren. Seit 1915 ist Lausanne der Hauptsitz des Internationalen Olympischen Komitees (IOK) und seit 1994 offiziell die Hauptstadt der Olympischen Bewegung. Ausserdem haben über 50 internationale Sportverbände und Sportorganisationen ihren Sitz in Lausanne bzw. im Kanton Waadt. Die Countdown Clock wurde auf Initiative der Stadt Lausanne in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Kanton Waadt, dem Internationalen Olympischen Komitee und OMEGA errichtet. Sie unterstreicht die bedeutende Rolle von Lausanne als Hauptstadt der Olympischen Bewegung.

Die Uhr besteht aus mehreren Kalksteinblöcken aus dem Jura und zeigt den Countdown (in Tagen, Stunden, Minuten und Sekunden) bis zu den Olympischen Spielen 2018 in PyeongChang und de Spielen 2020 in Tokyo an.

Auf einer Seite der Countdown Clock repräsentieren die sieben in den Stein eingravierten Piktogramme die sieben olympischen Sportarten, die auf dem Programm der Olympischen Winterspiele 2018 in PyeongChang stehen: Biathlon, Bob, Curling, Eishockey, Rodeln, Eiskunstlauf und Ski.

Auf der anderen Seite symbolisieren 28 Piktogramme die Sportverbände, die an den Olympischen Spielen 2020 in Tokyo teilnehmen. Diese Piktogramme wurden von OMEGA entwickelt und kunstvoll eingraviert.

Mit der Errichtung dieser Uhr möchte die Stadt Lausanne den abtretenden Präsidenten Jacques Rogge würdigen. Als geradliniger und überzeugter Vertreter des IOK hat er sich immer für die Werte der Olympischen Bewegung eingesetzt. Die Countdown Clock steht im Eigentum der Stadt Lausanne. Mit ihren soliden Steinblöcken und ihren Ausmassen bringt sie zum Ausdruck, wie stark die Olympische Bewegung in Lausanne verankert ist. Damit unterstreicht sie den Status von Lausanne als Hauptstadt der Olympischen Bewegung.

In Anwesenheit von Philippe Leuba, Staatsrat, Daniel Brélaz, Stadtpräsident von Lausanne, Nick Hayek, CEO der Swatch Group, Stephen Urquhart, Präsident von OMEGA, und Jacques Rogge, Präsident des IOK, wurde die Countdown Clock am Montag, 24. Juni 2013, eingeweiht.

    Könnte Ihnen auch gefallen...

    @MyLausanne