La Nuit des Musées

Culture

In Lausanne, the development of the city is bound up with culture!
The abundance and variety of Lausanne's cultural provision are exceptional in a town of this size. But it's not just sheer quantity that sets Lausanne apart – it's also the quality, originality and accessibility of that provision.

Cultural production in Lausanne covers every sphere of the arts, although dance, opera and theatre give the city a particularly high profile on the Swiss and international stages. Prestigious institutions such as the Ballet Béjart, the Lausanne Opera and the Vidy-Lausanne Theatre thus play the role of ambassadors for Lausanne abroad.

Among the twenty or so of the town‟s museums are some that are utterly unique, such as the Olympic Museum or the Collection of Art Brut, a point of reference for marginal art. There is also the Elysée Museum, dedicated entirely to photography, the only one of its kind in French-speaking Switzerland.

Cultural heritage is omnipresent in Lausanne. At the heart of the city it is embodied by the majestic Gothic cathedral and the historical Cité district, while the remains of ancient Roman dwellings can be found on the outskirts. Finally, thanks to the multitude of festivals and the innumerable small drama companies and experimental theatres that bring life to the districts, culture is permanently within everyone‟s grasp here.

    You may also like...

    Social Hub @MyLausanne

La Nuit des Musées

Culture

A Lausanne, le développement de la ville passe par la culture!
L'abondance et la variété de l'offre culturelle lausannoise sont exceptionnelles pour une ville de cette taille. Mais plus encore que la quantité, c’est la qualité de l’offre, son originalité et son accessibilité qui différencient Lausanne d’autres villes suisses et étrangères.

La production culturelle lausannoise couvre tous les domaines artistiques. La danse, l’opéra et le théâtre offrent cependant à la ville une visibilité toute particulière sur les scènes suisse et internationale. Des institutions prestigieuses telles que le Ballet Béjart, l’Opéra de Lausanne ou le Théâtre de Vidy-Lausanne jouent ainsi le rôle d’ambassadrices de Lausanne à l’étranger.

Parmi la vingtaine de musées que compte la ville, certains sont tout à fait singuliers comme le Musée Olympique ou la Collection de l’art brut, référence en matière d’art marginal. Quant au Musée de l’Elysée, entièrement dédié à la photographie, il est unique en Suisse romande.

La culture est omniprésente à Lausanne. Au cœur de la ville, elle est incarnée par la majestueuse cathédrale gothique et la cité historique, tandis qu’en périphérie se trouvent des vestiges romains d’antiques demeures. Enfin, grâce aux nombreux festivals ainsi qu’aux innombrables petites scènes et théâtres d’essai qui animent les quartiers, la culture est ici en permanence à la portée de tous.

    Vous pourriez aussi aimer…

    Social Hub @MyLausanne